When I go to college, I’m going to go far away and come home once a year.

God you have no idea how many times i heard that in high school. Mostly because I was the one saying it. I always thought I would go to college far from home, a part of me was so ready to leave and forge a new life for myself, be a new person, and do all the things I never had the courage to before. But now that i think about it, I’m truly glad I am where I am.  Close to home but still more than a quick visit away. There’s no need to run far away from home to forget my mistakes, geography has little to do with personal growth. Instead I’m learning to build, build on who I was and love who I’m becoming. I’m glad I’m close enough for my mom and dad to visit once in a while and bring me food, I’m glad i get to see my wonderful sister and friends more than once a year. I’m thankful I get to see my beautiful nieces and nephews grow up, even though I wish they wouldn’t. I love my family, I love my home, I love whoever I am, I love where I’ve been, I love where I’m going. 

Leave a Reply

